Home » Subcommittees » Accessibility and Aging

Accessibility and Aging

This subcommittee is suitable for contributions related to the design or study of technology for people with disabilities and/or older adults. Accessibility papers are those that deal with technology designed for or used by people with disabilities including sensory, motor, mobility, and intellectual or learning disabilities. Aging papers are broadly categorized as those dealing with technology designed for or used by people in the later stages of life. Relationships with technology are complex and multifaceted; we welcome contributions across a range of topics aimed at benefiting relevant stakeholder groups and not solely limited to concerns of making technology accessible. Note that if your paper primarily concerns interactions with health data or with healthcare providers, then the Health subcommittee is probably a better fit, whereas papers reflecting on how technologies are used and/or on designing interfaces and interactions suited to specific needs are a better fit for this subcommittee. We strongly suggest that authors review this Accessible Writing Guide in order to adopt a writing style that refers to stakeholder groups using appropriate terminology. Submissions to this subcommittee will be evaluated in part based on their inclusion of and potential impact on their target user groups and other stakeholders. This subcommittee balances the rigor required in all CHI submissions with awareness of the challenges of conducting research in these important areas. This subcommittee welcomes all contributions related to accessibility and aging, including empirical, theoretical, conceptual, methodological, design, and systems contributions.

Subcommittee Chairs

  • Anne Marie Piper, University of California Irvine, USA
  • Kristen Shinohara, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
  • Karyn Moffatt, McGill University, Canada
  • Stacy Branham, University of California, Irvine

Contact: [email protected]

Associate Chairs

  • Andrew Begel, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Cynthia Bennett, Google, USA
  • Danielle Bragg, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Christopher Bull, Newcastle University, UK
  • Michael Crabb, Univerisity of Dundee, UK
  • Shital Desai, York University, Canada
  • Yasmine N. Elglaly, Western Washington University, USA
  • Silvia Berenice Fajardo-Flores, Universidad de Colima, Mexico
  • Mingming Fan, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
  • Benjamin Gorman, Bournemouth University, UK
  • João Guerreiro, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Tiago Guerreiro, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Foad Hamidi, Univerisity of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA
  • Yasamin Heshmat, Unity Technologies, USA
  • Raja Kushalnagar, Gallaudet University, USA
  • Sooyeon Lee, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
  • Kathleen McCoy, University of Delaware, USA
  • Timothy Neate, King’s College London, UK
  • Uran Oh, Ewha Woman’s University, South Korea
  • Fabio Paternò, CNR-ISTI, HIIS Laboratory, Italy
  • André Pimenta Freire, Federal University of Lavras, Brazil
  • Sergio Sayago, Universitat de Lleida, Spain
  • Laurianne Sitbon, Queensland University of Technology Brisbane, Australia
  • Frank Steinicke, Universität Hamburg, Germany
  • Afroza Sultana, Toronto Metropolitan University, Canada
  • Garreth Tigwell, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
  • Annuska Zolyomi, University of Washington Bothell, USA

Example Papers